In this guide, I will be going over the different ranking systems in Counter-Strike matchmaking, Faceit, ESEA, and Esportal.

Check out our guide on third-party pugging websites like Faceit, ESEA, and Esportal HERE.


Counter Strike’s built-in 5v5 matchmaking system. Counter Strike’s built-in ranking system is made up of 18 skill groups going from Silver 1 (lowest) to The Global Elite (highest).

Depending on your rank you will be matched against players of equal skill level. If you keep winning you will rank up if you lose you will rank down.

Valve has always been very secretive about how Counter-Strike’s ranking algorithm works, while that has been said, in my experience the easiest way to rank up is by getting on winning streaks.

When you start out playing you need to win 10 competitive matches to see your rank. Don’t be discouraged if you place on the lower end, you can find a lot of guides on this website that will greatly help you get better.

counter strike competitive ranking system


Wingman is Counter Strike’s built-in 2v2 matchmaking system. The ranks are the same as normal Counter-Strike competitive.

counter strike wingman gamemode ranking system

Danger Zone

Danger Zone is Counter Strike’s battle royale game mode. The ranks range from Lab Rat 1 (lowest) to The Howling Alpha (highest). To rank up you have to place among the top teams in the match.

counter strike danger zone ranking system

Third-party sites


Faceit is the most popular 3rd party site where you can play Counter-Strike PUGs.

Faceit’s ranking system is build up by levels ranging from 1 to 10. Each level is based on your elo. An equal match will reward you with +25 elo if you win, -25 elo if you lose. The way the match is calculated is by team 1’s average elo Vs. team 2’s average elo. You gain/lose the same amount as your teammates no matter your elo. Faceit has 2 special ranks named FaceitProLeague (FPL) and FaceitProLeague-Challenger (FPL-C) that are only achievable by qualifying or getting an invite.

Click here to learn more about Faceit

Faceit Special Ranks

  • FPL – qualifying/invite only
  • FPL-C – qualifying/invite only

Faceit Normal Ranks

  • Level 10 – 2001 + elo
  • Level 9 – 1851 to 2000 elo
  • Level 8 – 1701 to 1850 elo
  • Level 7 – 1551 to 1700 elo
  • Level 6 – 1401 to 1550 elo
  • Level 5 – 1251 to 1400 elo
  • Level 4 – 1101 to 1250 elo
  • Level 3 – 951 to 1100 elo
  • Level 2 – 801 to 950 elo
  • Level 1 – 1 to 800 elo


ESEA is a very popular matchmaking website. Their ranking system is based on numbers and + / – signs. Like Faceit, ESEA has some special ranks that are only achievable by qualifying or getting an invite. Those ranks are rank S and rank G.

Click here to learn more about ESEA.

ESEA Special Ranks

  • Rank S
  • Rank G

ESEA Normal Ranks

  • Rank A+
  • Rank A
  • Rank A-
  • Rank B+
  • Rank B
  • Rank B-
  • Rank C+
  • Rank C
  • Rank C-
  • Rank D+
  • Rank D
  • Rank D-


Esportal is a new matchmaking site that is getting very popular in Europe. The amount of rating you gain is based on how well you perform and how good the opponents compared to you. Like Faceit and ESEA, Esportal has a special rank called Legend that is reserved for the top 100 players on esportal.

Click here to learn more about Esportal

Esportal Special Rank

  • Legend – Top 100 players on esportal

Esportal Normal Ranks

  • Pro – 1800 + rating
  • Elite – 1600 – 1799 rating
  • Master – 1400 – 1599 rating
  • Veteran – 1200 – 1399 rating
  • Gold – 1000 – 1199 rating
  • Silver – 1 – 999 rating
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!